Committee members:

I have excerpted two articles from the A&S Faculty Bylaws bearing on membership, voting rights, and committee membership. The gist of them is this:

- A body of "continuing" lecturers is defined, together with their voting rights according to University Bylaw XIII. (It may be noted that since the adoption of these Bylaws, continuing lecturers and senior lecturers have been able to vote on every issue before the Faculty.)
- Lecturers and senior lecturers are eligible to serve on, and vote upon nominees for, all elected standing committees except the dean's advisory committee on appointments and the university appeals panel. (As a matter of practice, lecturers and senior lecturers serve on one appointed committee, Admissions.)
- In spring of 2002, three senior lecturers were nominated by the nominating committee for seats on standing committees; two were elected (to the Educational Policy Committee and to the Academic Integrity Hearing Board).

--SD 22/28/03

Bylaws for the Faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences at Cornell University

I. Membership.

The voting membership of the faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences shall consist of those tenured and tenure-track faculty (both current and emeritus) who have an appointment in this college. As specified in the University Bylaws (Article XIII,1), instructors, senior research associates, lecturers, and senior lecturers with an appointment in this college, and those bearing the adjunct title shall be non-voting members of the faculty, except as specified below. The faculty shall include such other persons as may have been, or may hereafter be, elected by the board of trustees, upon recommendation of the faculty, to voting or non-voting membership therein. The university president and provost are ex-officio members of the college faculty.

All members of the faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences may attend college faculty meetings and participate in discussion of the matters at hand.

Voting rights are reserved to current and emeritus members of the tenured and tenure-track faculty. Continuing lecturers, ¹ continuing senior lecturers, and continuing non-tenure-track professorial appointees may vote on those matters which the dean of the college, in accordance with University Bylaws XIII.1² has determined are germane and appropriate for their consideration. No other individuals shall have the right to vote in this assembly.

* * *

V. Standing committees.

¹ Continuing faculty, for purposes of these bylaws, are those appointed for three or more years, as well as those who have been appointed for a third year in the relevant title. This article notwithstanding, no candidate for a degree ¹ Continuing faculty, for purposes of these bylaws, are those appointed for three or more years, as well as those at Cornell University may be a voting member of the faculty.

² This section of the University Bylaws states: "Lecturers and senior lecturers shall participate fully in those decisions that are directly related to their roles within the college or school and within the department. The dean or director shall have the responsibility of identifying those issues that are related to their roles within the college or school."

A. Composition of the standing committees.

The standing committees of the faculty oversee and help determine academic policy for the college and ensure that such policy is appropriately interpreted. The standing committees³ are the following:

Elected Committees:

Dean's advisory committee on appointments Academic integrity hearing board Faculty grievance committee Educational policy committee Nominating committee Agenda committee

The dean's advisory committee, which is chaired by the dean, has twelve elected tenured faculty members (four each from humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences and mathematics). The academic integrity hearing board has six elected student members and six elected faculty members (rank open, two each from humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences and mathematics) plus a chair appointed by the dean. The faculty grievance committee is composed of the three longest serving members of the academic integrity hearing board; the dean appoints one of these members as chair. The educational policy committee, which is chaired by the dean or an associate dean appointed by the dean, has three elected student members and six elected faculty members (rank open, two each from humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences and mathematics). The nominating committee, which elects its own chair, has six elected faculty members (rank open, two each from humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences and mathematics). The agenda

committee, which elects its own chair, has five elected faculty members (rank and discipline open).

Appointed committees:

Academic Records committee Admissions Committee

B. Election and appointment.

Faculty membership on the elected standing committees of the College of Arts and Sciences and representation on the university appeals panel shall be by election of the tenured and tenuretrack faculty of the college. Continuing lecturers and senior lecturers shall be eligible to serve on and to vote upon nominees for all committees except the dean's advisory committee on appointments and the university appeals panel. In January of each year the dean will distribute to all faculty a list of the standing committees showing their continuing and outgoing membership and will invite nominations of candidates for these positions. Any member eligible to serve on a committee may nominate her/himself or any other eligible member for consideration. The college nominating committee will review the nominations received, ascertain willingness to serve, solicit further nominations as needed to form a full slate of candidates for each committee, and present such a slate of candidates for each committee no later than the last meeting of the college faculty in April, at which point further nominations from the floor will be entertained. When the slate has been approved, a mail ballot will be sent to each faculty member eligible to vote. Results of the election will be announced to members of the faculty before the end of the spring semester exam period. Student members of the educational policy committee and the academic integrity committee shall be chosen by student ballot.

The dean appoints the members of the academic records committee and the admissions committee. The academic records committee has nine tenured faculty members, whose names are held in confidence, and is co-chaired by the dean or (an) associate dean(s) appointed by the dean. The admissions committee has approximately 55 faculty members of all ranks, who meet in small groups chaired by professional staff.

C. Terms of service.

³ The establishment or abolition of standing committees, or any change in their composition, requires amendment of the bylaws.

Faculty membership on standing committees of the college shall be for three years and appointments shall be staggered so that a majority of a committee's members continue in office as new members are appointed. Appointment to the university appeals panel carries a five-year term. Service shall commence on July 1 and end on June 30 of the appropriate years.

D. Vacancies, resignations.

Vacancies occurring for any reason may be filled by appointment by the nominating committee. Where there are elected alternate committee members, appointment shall be from among these names. Any member elected to a committee may be removed by a 2/3's majority vote of the committee provided that removal is based on failure to perform the work of the committee.

* * *

Approved by vote of the Faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences on April 1, 1998

.